Did you know?
That Virtual Drive is approved to offer drivers ed online for both Teens and Adults. With over 10 years of experience and based right here in the state of Texas you can complete our state approved courses anytime which work for you. Please see our Frequently asked Questions below and if you need any extra assistance please contact our Texas Based Customer Service Team.
You can get your Learner's Permit
If you are 15 years old, you can apply for your learner's permit immediately after you have received your packet from the state of Texas, have taken Virtual Driver or Texas Module 1,and have passed the required test from THE DPS office.
You can get your Texas Driver's License
If 16 years of age, have successfully completed Virtual Drive Driver Education and have had a valid Learner's Permit for a minimum of six months.
Your Virtual Drive Certificate of Completion can be accessed online
Simply Login using you student's username and password.
Are your courses Texas State Approved?
YES! Both of our courses are fully approved.
Parent Taught Drivers Ed: Virtual Drive of Texas (Course #107) is the only state approved course designed specifically for the State of Texas and is all you need to get your license at 16 years old and receive a discount on your insurance.
Texas Adult Driver Education: is fully approved by the Texas Education Agency (Course #C2636). The course is mandatory for new drivers age 18-24 and can also be completed by drivers aged 25 and over to meet the DPS examination requirements.
Can I use the Parent Taught Course for both of my children?
Each child must register individually to receive credit for the course. The first child in each household must purchase the program at full price, each additional child will pay $75 to be added to the online course or receive the CD's. In order to qualify for this special price, the students must reside in the same household.
Call 888-241-0896 for details.
How old do I have to be to take this driver ed course online?
Teen Course: The state of Texas require that you be at least 14 years of age to take drivers ed online. However, you will want to take Module 1 and apply for your Learner's Permit six months before your 16th birthday.
Adult Course: Senate Bill 1317 mandates that any new drivers age 18-24 complete the Texas Adult Drivers education course before obtaining a license.
Will I need to take a written or driving test at the DPS office after I have completed this course to get my Texas Driver's License?
Teen Course: Under New State Laws, Sept. 1st 2009. All Students, any age, regardless of where they receive their driver education, are required by law to take an in-car driving test. Note: You will also be required to provide a certificate of completion from Virtual Drive of Texas before you are able to take the DPS in-car driver license test.
Adult Course: Our adult course covers the written DPS exam so you will not have to take that at the DPS. All new drivers regardless of age will be required to complete a behind the wheel exam at the DPS.
How do I get started with a Parent Taught Course?
Teen Course: Go to the "Steps to Licensing" Page, download the DL-92 document and fill it out. Send it to the address on the page and include a $20 check. The state will send you a packet within three weeks. At at that time, you will be able to take a parent taught course.
Adult Course: Simply register for the 6 hour program and complete your drivers Ed online today. We even have express shipping options.
Do you have to complete the full 6 hours all at once?
The Virtual Drive Adult classroom structure consists of a 6-hour curriculum that can be managed at the pace of each individual student over 3 months. This course also provides needed extensions.
Is there a time limit on completing the Texas Course 107?
The Virtual Drive Course 107 classroom structure consists of a 2 hour a day lesson plan spanning 16 days. What kind of online company would we be if we didn't provide over 20 times that expectation? By providing our students one year of online access, we also provide them the flexibility to control their own schedule. However , in the few occasions where one year was met with unexpected time complications, we do extend needed account 3 months for less than $10.
What are the computer requirements for Texas Online Driver Education?
Windows (Online or CD ROM)
- Pentium 133 processor
- Windows 2000/XP
- 64 meg RAM
- video card - 800 X 600 display
- Sound Card with speakers
- Color Monitor
- Internet Connection
- Flash Player
- Acrobat Reader
Mac (Available Online Only)
- OS X.1 later
- 128 MB RAM for OS X.1 or later
- 800 x 600 256 color monitor
- Internet Connection
- Flash Player
- Acrobat Reader
Why doesn't the paperwork from my packet match the Course 107 paperwork?
Virtual Drive is granted approval by the state to provide paperwork more appropriate to the course 107 structure. The paperwork can be found in the students section of the course in the REQUIRED FORMS link, just before the first module.
Why does my voice verification submission provide me with a USER ERROR?
There is a small chance that your voice verification submission will run into this problem. If that is the case, then give our staff a call. They will get you up and running anytime M-F, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
How long does it take for me to receive my state approved certificate for online adult drivers ed?
Once the final test has been completed with a passing grade and the certificate has been requested, the student can expect 8-10 business days for delivery. If you wish to have you certificate sent overnight, then simply contact our office to make the proper shipping change.
What does the time on each lesson link mean?
The time specified is the required amount of time the student must spend on each lesson. Once the time has been complete, the lesson will continue.
How does 2-Pay work?
2-pay enables you to pay by credit card in equal installments. Half of the payment will be debited the day of purchase and your credit card will automatically be charged 30 days from the original date of purchase for the balance.
What is your return policy?
Refunds to online courses that have not been started will result in a $10 fee. Refunds to unopened software packages within 10-days of order will be credited minus $17 for handling and credit card charges.