Legislation was passed January 1, 2002, mandating Texas graduated drivers license laws. These laws outline the requirements for Texas drivers license training. There rules are broken into multiple phases with the final outcome of becoming a fully license driver. While you are reviewing the requirements please remember that Virtual Drive is here to help. We have trained over 100,000 students so we know what you need and how to get you on the road.
As part of the requirements for a Texas Drivers License, anyone under 18 years of age is required by state law to have a valid learner license or a minor restricted driver license (MRDL) for at least six months before a provisional Class A, B or C driver license is allowed to be issued. The Texas Graduated Drivers License (GDL) program does not set a timeframe for which someone is required to have a restricted motorcycle or moped license before applying for a Class M license.
No one is allowed to move onto Phase Two of the GDL process until they have met all Phase one requirements including, the six month holding period, is at least 16 years of age or a Class C license or at least 17 years of age for a Class A or B non-CDL, and plus you must successfully complete an online or classroom Texas drivers ed course, along with the in-car training requirements.
If for any reason a persons’ license is revoked/suspended during any part of Phase one training the six-month holding requirement will be extended by the number of days of the suspension.
During the second phase of the Texas graduated drivers license process driving privileges are limited for those under 18 years of age. These restrictions are in place for a full 12-month period after the original Class A, B, C or M driver license (provisional license) is issued by the state.
The requirements for Texas drivers license in Phase two mandate that license holders are not allowed to operate vehicle carrying more than one passenger under the age of 21, unless it is an immediate family member. Drivers in Phase Two are also not allowed to drive between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. The time restraint can be waived if you are driving for work, a school-activity or medical emergency. The use of any wireless device for communication is not allowed during Phase Two, unless it is an emergency situation. If you hold a motorcycle license in Phase Two, the above restrictions also apply.
Completing the GDL Process
When you have successfully met the requirements for a Texas Drivers License you will be issued a Provisional license. The license will have a restriction (TRC 545.424 applies until MM/DD/YY) showing the date that the Phase Two of Texas graduated drivers license will expire. When the 12-month Phase 2 period ends the restrictions in Phase Two are no longer enforced. Your license will continue to be marked Provisional until you turn 18 or pay for a duplicate license which has the Provisional wording removed.
Obtaining your Texas driver's license can be a long and challenging process. However, with the proper resources at your disposal, it can be made easier.View Resources