Texas Drivers License
If you are a minor living in the State of Texas, getting your Texas drivers license involves completing a multi-step application process. Knowing which steps you need to complete can help make this process easier, faster, and much less stressful. Not only will you have the benefit of knowing which requirements need to be satisfied, but you will know what tests need to be taken so you can study in advance. Don’t start this process in the dark – be informed so that you can get your license with ease!
Texas Graduated Drivers License Program
All minors living in the State of Texas are required to complete the Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program through a state approved Texas Drivers Ed course before they can get their Texas drivers license. This course is designed to help teen drivers slowly gain skill and experience behind the wheel, over an extended period of time, so that when they are issued a non-restricted license, they can safely operate a motor vehicle on Texas highways.
Texas Learners Permit
For minors, obtaining a learners permit is the first step in the process that will eventually culminate with the issuing of a standard operator’s permit. In order to apply for a learner license, individuals must:
- Be at least 15 years old
- Have consent from a parent or legal guardian
- Completed the required classroom portion of the Texas parent taught drivers ed course
- Provide proof of a Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) form, high school diploma, or GED
If these criteria are satisfied, you will then take a written knowledge test covering a range of topics, including Texas traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Upon completion of this test, you will be issued a learner license, which will allow you to gain behind-the-wheel experience while supervised by a licensed adult of at least 21 years of age. This is your first step to getting your Texas drivers license.
Minor Restricted Drivers License (MRDL)
Commonly referred to as a “hardship license,” the MRDL is similar to the learner license, except it is issued to individuals who have a qualifying hardship. Acceptable hardships, which would make it necessary for a minor to drive a motor vehicle, include:
- Economic hardship
- Death-related emergencies
- Sickness, illness, or disability in the family
- Enrollment in a vocational education program
If you are unsure whether or not you are eligible for a Minor Restricted Driver License, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Texas Provisional License
Once a minor turns 16 years old, he or she can apply for a Texas drivers license. However, until the applicant turns 18 years old, a provisional driver license will be issued. Though similar to a standard operator’s permit, the provisional license includes some restrictions. These restrictions include:
- Individuals may not drive with more than one passenger under the age of 21
- Individuals may not use a wireless communication device, except in the case of emergencies
When the driver reaches 18 years of age, the provisional license will expire and a non-restricted license will be issued.
Have you lost your Texas drivers license?
Did someone steal it? Did you accidentally drop it in a campfire or down your toilet? No matter, we can help you replace it! Getting a driver’s license replacement (or duplicate, as it’s often called) is easy. You simply have to complete all of the required steps. Though this may sound difficult, once you’re made aware of these steps (and the various requirements that will need to be satisfied), replacing your lost Texas drivers license is a cinch. Worry no longer – see the steps below!
Replacing Your Texas Driver’s License – A Step-by-Step Guide
Though replacing your lost Texas driver’s license isn’t quite as easy as 1, 2, 3, it’s nearly so! Perhaps the only difference is that there are more than three steps in the process! Follow these steps to apply for a replacement or duplicate Texas driver’s license:
- Visit a Texas DPS driver license office
- Bring a completed license replacement application (available online as a PDF document)
- Pay the required replacement fee of $11 (your license expiration date will not be updated)
- Provide proof of identity (valid passports are accepted or you can submit a birth certificate along with a social security card and W-2 or 1099 form)
- Confirm personal information (for a drivers license replacement, you will be required to verify your social security number or provide proof of)
Not a U.S. citizen? There’s no need to worry. Simply provide proof of lawful presence in the United States. Accepted forms of lawful presence documentation include U.S. passports that state the bearer is a national resident of the country, not a citizen; permanent resident cards; foreign passports with attached and endorsed immigrant visas; and refugee travel documents.
Don’t Hesitate Any Longer!
Now that you know all there is to know about getting your lost Texas driver’s license replaced, you have no reason not to act! Download the application online, fill it out, and visit your nearest Texas DPS driver license office today. And if your drivers license has been stolen, file a report with your local law enforcement agency.
“Thanks Virtual Drive!”
“Virtual Drive was fast, fun, and easy to use. I didn’t think driver’s education could be so convenient. Being able to start and stop whenever I needed to was a big plus. I would recommend this to anyone trying to complete driver’s education!”