Texas law requires that drivers have automobile coverage to pay for any property damage or injury to others resulting from an accident that they have caused. The first offense for driving without insurance can result in a court fine of between $175 and $350, and subsequent offenses can result in court fines up to $1,000.
Additionally, if you are convicted of driving without insurance, you may have to pay an annual surcharge of $250 to the Texas DPS to maintain your possession of your driver’s license. This will remain in effect for three years, meaning that the first offense could ultimately cost you more than $1,000.
The insurance company will provide you with a card that operates as your “proof of insurance” at the beginning of each policy term. This will be necessary to possess when you:
- Are asked by a police officer to procure it
- Obtain or renew your driver’s license
- Have an accident
- Have a vehicle inspected during an annual required state safety inspection
- Register the title to your car or renew its registration
Texas law further requires that you have the basic minimum coverage of $30,000 per injured person, up to $60,000 for everyone hurt in the accident, and $25,000 for property damage. This coverage is often referred to as “30/60/25,” but please acknowledge that this may not be enough if you are held wholly liable for the accident. With this is mind, it may prove more beneficial for you to increase your coverage limits; the higher your limits, the more your premium is.
It is very important to know that basic liability coverage pays for damages and injuries you cause to other people, and will not repair or replace your car. “Comprehensive” coverage will aide you to repair or replace your car if it’s stolen or damaged by hail, fire, road debris, vandalism, or other similar covered risks. You may also wish to add “Personal Injury Protection (PIP),” which will pay for your expenses from an accident caused by an uninsured motorist.
Obviously, automobile insurance is highly important to operate a vehicle in the State of Texas, so if you aren’t insured, you should go out and get some today!