Texas Drivers Ed - Virtual Drive

Texas Drivers Education for Adults

State approved adult driver education course for first time drivers 18-24. Immediate enrollment, instant certificate access, Texas drivers license.

Texas Adult Drivers Ed Course

State approved (TDLR) course #C2636 for Adults 18-24 and new-to-state drivers. Convenient for adult drivers 25 & over.

$38.00

  • TDLR Approved Course #C2636
  • Complete course in just six hours
  • Online DPS written exam included
  • Instant certificate access
  • Free bonus DPS road test video

Driver Education for Adults 18-24

Adults between the ages of 18 and 24 years of age are required by the State of Texas to complete a Texas drivers ed course for Adults if they did not complete an approved teen course. Our Adult course (TDLR Approval #C2636) is the most advanced online course available and the quickest way to pass the DPS written test, get your certificate and apply for your learners permit or Texas drivers license!

This adult course includes everything you need to get your Texas learners permit or drivers license. Start today, complete the course today or as your schedule permits. It’s fast, fun and easy. If you are still not sure, learn more about why you should choose Virtual Drive of Texas.

Texas driver education for adults.

How does Texas driver education for Adults work?

Step 1: Enroll in our TDLR Approved Driver Education Course for Texas Adults

Start by enrolling in our online drivers ed for adults course. Virtual Drive is a Texas driving school approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. Our approval number is #C2636. There are no delays. Enroll now and start the driver training immediately. Many of our students complete their Adult online drivers ed requirements in a single day.

Step 2: Complete the six hours of online drivers ed training for Adults

Drivers ed 18 & over is divided into short, easy lessons. You can login or out at any time and complete it at your own pace. Choose to complete the drivers ed classes in one day, or take an hour or two at a time.

Step 3: Pass the DPS written test in the Adult course

The final test in the online adult drivers ed course is the written DPS drivers license test. The benefit here is, that rather than having to go to your local DPS office to take the drivers test, you can take it in the comfort of your home, office or anywhere you have access to the internet. 90.4% of our students pass the test on the first try. If for some reason you do not pass on the first try, no worries! Simply review the course material again and take the test again when ready.

Step 4: Print your ADE-1317 Adult driver education certificate

After completing online drivers ed and passing the permit test online, there is an option in your course account to print your adult drivers education certificate (ADE-1317). Present this certificate to your local DPS office when applying for your permit or license.

Many other driving schools will only mail your drivers ed certificate for an extra charge. We know our students want their certificate quick, so we’ve added an option to print it. If you prefer, we can also mail it (free of charge) by first class mail.

Step 5: Apply for your Texas learners permit or Drivers License

Apply for your permit or license at your local DPS office after completing your online drivers ed class and pass the test. In order to receive a license, you will have to pass the drivers road test in a vehicle with a Texas State Trooper.

If you already know how to drive (they are not going to ask how you learned) and feel you are ready to take the road test, then you can go ahead and schedule your driving test. In larger cities, you may have to schedule it a few days out. In smaller cities, they can often test you on the same day.

If you are not ready to take the driving test yet, then you can apply for a Texas learners permit. This will allow you to practice driving with a licensed adult driver in the passenger seat who is over 21 years of age.

Texas Drivers Ed for Adults 25 & older

Adult drivers over the age of 25 are not required by Texas law to complete formal driver education training. If you are a first time driver over the age of 25, you are not alone. It’s not as uncommon as you may think it is.

The process for first time adult drivers over 25 to get a Texas learners permit or drivers license is the same as for adults 18-24. The only difference is, adults over 25 are not required by law to take an Adult drivers ed course.

The easiest way for adults 25 and over to get their drivers license is to enroll in our Texas online adult drivers education course. The benefits are, that you get access to all the same course material that will prepare you for the DPS written test. The DPS written exam is taken in the course, so there are no special trips to the DPS to take the written exam.

Texas drivers ed for adults over 25

Frequently Asked Questions about Drivers Education for Texas Adults

Are adults required to take drivers ed in Texas?

Texas law requires first time drivers under the age of 25 complete a driver education course approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. Texas adults between the ages of 18-24 must complete an approved six hour Texas Adult drivers education course before being issued a learners permit or drivers license.

Can adults get a learners permit in Texas?

Yes. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires a road test with a DPS officer before being issued a drivers license. Adults who complete course have two options. If the adult already has driving experience, they can choose to schedule their DPS road test and skip apply for a learners permit. If the adult is not ready to take the DPS road test, they can apply for a Texas learners permit that will allow them to legally practice driving with another licensed adult in the passenger seat. This allows the adult to gain driving experience to prepare for the road test.

Do you have to pass a road test to get your Texas drivers license?

First time drivers applying for a Texas drivers license are required to take a DPS road test before being issued a license. Drivers who hold an active drivers license from another state, are not required to take the DPS road test, when apply for a Texas license.

What are the requirements to get a Texas drivers license?

See our online reference for Texas drivers license requirements for adults.

What are the steps to get a Texas drivers license?

The steps differ between teens and adults. See our guide on Texas Drivers License – Steps to Licensing to better understand how the process works.

Is it possible to complete the drivers ed course for Adults in a single day?

Yes. Many of our students choose to complete the adult course in a single day. Of course, this is completely optional. You can login and out of the course, as your schedule permits. Your progress in the course is saved when you log out, so the next time you login in, the course will begin where you left off.

How will I receive my ADE-1317 Adult driver education certificate?

Once you complete the DPS written test in the course, you will have an option to print your ADE-1317 certificate. Other courses charge extra shipping costs to mail your certificate. Virtual Drive provides the option to print your driver education certificate immediately, so you can take it to your local DPS office to apply for your learners permit or drivers license.

If you do not have access to a printer, you can request your certificate be sent via mail. We mail certificates (free of charge) via USPS first class mail.

Can adults 25 and older take your Adult drivers ed course?

Absolutely! Many of our students are first time drivers over the age of 25. It’s not as uncommon as you might think. Adults over 25 are not required by law to take the course, but many adults choose to take our adult drivers ed course because the requirements to get a Texas drivers license are the same.

They get the same six hours of online course material, take the DPS test inside our course (no extra trips to the DPS) and get the same certificate that tells the DPS office you’ve passed the DPS written test in our course. They have the same option to apply for a learners permit or drivers license. If you are a first time Adult driver over the age of 25, our course will save you the time and hassle of studying the DPS drivers manual and making an extra trip to the DPS to take the written test.