A loud “WHAT!?” with maybe a few swear words tend to be what we say after we see the amount of fines on our speeding ticket. This is mainly due to the surprise caused by how high the fines actually are. Has this ever happened to you? Well, you may be overreacting a little bit, because some of the numbers we’re about to reveal are going to blow your mind! Brace yourselves and take a look at the most expensive traffic tickets in our country!
- Georgia: The biggest fine you can receive for your FIRST speeding ticket is about $1,000! Don’t know about you, but that’s more than 4 times the fine of my first speeding ticket! Furthermore, a jail sentence of up to 1 year is also possible.
- Illinois: Same with Georgia, the max fine for your first speeding ticket is $1,000.
- Nevada: The state in which Sin City is located in is, of course, fine heavy; the max you may get for your first speeding ticket is also $1,000. Additionally, if severe enough, a jail sentence of up to 6 months is also a possibility.
- New Hampshire: Live free or die? Not behind the wheel. A state statute says drivers can get a ticket for not staying 10 mph below stated speed limits in school zones. By the way, the max fine for your first ticket is also $1,000.
- North Carolina: If you want to be a speeder in the Tar Heel state, look out! You may be jailed for up to 60 days, along with a fine of up to $1,000 dollars.
- Utah: Speed limits have been raised to 75 mph in some areas, but fines are big. Drivers can be ticketed for going so slow as to “impede or block the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.”
- Oregon: Max speeding fine in this beautiful state is at $600, significantly lower than the above 6, but still very high.
- Indiana: The max fine here in the Hoosier state is again, slightly lower at $500. BUT fines double for speeding in a school zone; an extra $25 will also be added if it’s near a construction site.
- Kansas: Max first ticket fine is also $500, but there’s a weird law that states even in an urban school district zone, the speed limit still can’t be less than 20 MPH.
- Maryland: Maximum fine for your first speeding ticket is $500, and fines would double if speeding is committed in school zones!
Is Your State on the List?
If yes, you should probably be more careful; pretty sure you don’t want to have to pay these fines!
If no, you should maybe appreciate how low your fines are a little more! Either way, stay careful and stay safe!