Texas Drivers Ed Online
TDLR approved Texas drivers ed online courses for teens & adults. The fastest and easiest way to get your Texas permit and drivers license.
Texas Drivers Education Courses
Virtual Drive has helped thousands of teens and young adults get their Texas drivers license and we can help you! Our online state approved Texas drivers education courses include:
Texas Drivers Ed Online
Drivers Ed teaches fundamental driving skills that help first time drivers learn how to drive safely, effectively and operate a motor vehicle on Texas roads and highways. Drivers Ed focuses on Texas driving laws, traffic safety, road signs, driver safety and safe driving skills.
First time drivers under the age of 24 years are required by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to complete an approved drivers education course in order to receive a drivers license.
Texas Drivers Ed Requirements & Eligibility
Driver’s Ed is mandatory in the state of Texas for first time drivers under the age of 24. The requirements and eligibility are based upon the students age.
For Teens 14-17:
Students younger than 18 years of age must meet the following requirements:
- Submit Form DL-92 to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).
- Have a parent or legal guardian who is qualified to instruct the course.
- Complete 32 hours of Drivers Ed instruction online.
- Complete 44 hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction with parent or legal guardian.
- Receive Certificate of Completion form DE-964.
For Adults 18-24:
Students 18-24 years of age must meet the following requirements:
- Complete 6 hours of classroom Drivers Ed online.
- Pass the DPS written test in the online course.
- Receive their Texas learner license.
- Receive Certificate of Completion form ADE-1317.
*** All first time drivers under the age of 24 must complete the free Texas Department of Public Safety Impact Texas Young Drivers course, within 90 days of completing their TX driver’s ed course, before the DPS driving (road) test will be administered.
Teen Drivers Ed 14-17
In Texas, teens may begin drivers education as early as 14 years of age, however, they cannot receive their learners permit until they are at least fifteen years old. Most teens start drivers ed at 15 in order to complete the course requirements to get their provisional drivers license at age 16.
Teens must complete 32 hours of classroom (online) drivers education instruction, which covers driving safety, traffic laws, defensive driving, road rules and other important instructional material for first time drivers.
After completing the first six hours of the online course and receiving their Texas learners license, students can begin their first driving lesson with their parent or legal guardian as their driving instructor. Learning how to drive is the most rewarding part of the drivers training course. The parental driving instructor will teach their student driving techniques, how to drive safely and help their student gain valuable driving time behind the wheel with the help of structured in-car driving lessons designed to help your student learn how to drive in record time.
Once the student has completed the 44 hours of in-car drivers ed training with a designated parent, grand parent or legal guardian, has held their Texas learners license for at least six months, completed the Texas IMPACT young drivers program (offered by the State – free), and are at least 16 years, they can apply for their Texas provisional drivers license.
Virtual Drive’s Teen Driver’s Ed course is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation and the Texas Department of Public Safety. The course includes everything your teen needs to get their learner drivers license, drivers license and insurance discount.
Adult Drivers Ed 18+
Adults between 18-24 are required by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) to complete an approved Drivers Ed course for adults 18-24. Our adult course covers everything that is on the drivers license written test, which is included in the final exam.
Adults over the age of 25 can take the course as well. Included is everything you need to pass the driving permit test and receive your Texas driver license. Most of our students complete the Adult Drivers Ed training in a day.
How Long Does Texas Drivers Ed Online Take?
Teen Drivers under 18:
To complete Drivers Ed in Texas, teens under the age of 18 must complete their course before their 18th birthday. This includes 32 hours of online training and 44 hours of behind the wheel driver training with a designated parent or legal guardian. Students must have held their Texas learners license for at least six months, complete the Texas IMPACT training and pass the DPS road test.
Adult Drivers 18-24
Adults between the ages of 18 and 24, must complete the six hours of online Drivers Education training for Adults prior to their 25th birthday and complete the Texas IMPACT training and pass the DPS road test.
How Our Students Compare
Understanding how our students perform after graduating from our Texas Drivers Ed online courses is what sets VirtualDriveofTexas.com apart from other schools. We had to know…how are our students performing a year after they completed their course and are driving on their own? To help us learn about how our students perform in their first year after receiving their drivers license, we commissioned an independent study through West Texas A&M to poll our students with a series of questions designed to help us learn not only what we were doing right, but areas where we could improve. Here’s some of the results from that poll:
Virtual Drive of Texas
Virtual Drive is a licensed Texas driving school by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, offering state approved online Drivers Ed courses for teens and adults. At Virtual Drive, our motto is “Every Student Matters!” We live in Texas and our entire family works together to make our roads safer with quality and effective drivers ed classes for teens and adults.
Texas Drivers Ed online is the most important course your student will complete and sets the foundation for a lifetime of safe driving. Your student deserves the best Texas driving school and their driving success is our first and foremost priority. Learn to drive today, with the best online driving school in Texas … Virtual Drive!
1Start by Enrolling
Start by selecting and enrolling in your Driver’s Ed online course. Our courses are approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (#107 / #C2636) and include everything you need to get your Texas learners permit and drivers license.
- Signup for the Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed for teens 14-17 years of age.
- Send form DL-92 to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) requesting participation in the parent taught program.
Start by enrolling in Texas Adult Drivers Ed for 18-24 year olds.
2Study Online Course
The first six hours of the online Drivers Ed course for both teens and adults focuses on preparation for the DPS written test. While the written test can be taken at your local DPS office, as approved TDLR course providers, we offer the DPS written test online in both the teen and adult course. This saves you a trip to the DPS office!
3Apply for Permit
After completing the first six hours of the teen or adult course and passing the DPS written test (in the course), print your certificate, gather all forms of identification noted in the checklist, and apply for your Texas learner driver license at your local DPS office.
4Begin Driving Lessons
Once you have earned your learners permit, teens can start the behind-the-wheel driving lessons with their designated parent or legal guardian. Additionally, teens will continue the online classroom training, as well as driving lessons, until the course requirements are complete.
5Impact Texas Young Drivers Course
After completing Drivers Ed, both teens and adults under the age of 24 are required to complete the free Impact Texas Young Drivers (ITYD) course, before the Texas Department of Public Safety will administer the final road/driving test in order to get your Texas drivers license.
6Texas Drivers License
After completing your online Drivers Ed course, the ITYD course and being at least sixteen years of age, apply for your Texas drivers license. Be sure and make several copies of your Drivers Education Certificate (DE-964 for teens – ADE-1317 for adults) for automobile insurance discount and your own records.